Runway Bottleneck

Hi There,

I’m a longtime player of WoA. Allthough I love the game I have something that has bugged me ever since I started playing, even in v1.0.

During early/mid game the airports are well balanced. Planes are on final and taking off at a steady pace.

For each runway at about lvl20 there is a turning point where you accept enough contracts to have the planes on final exceed the processing pace of the airport, causing you to be landing planes indefinitely without having spare room to do takeoffs.

That would be fine on a full house but some remarks:

• This issue arises when nearly 30% of all available stalls are filled. All other stalls just serve as a placeholder for planes still on final.

• Once planes have finished processing in time, time has no effect anymore. Even if they sit at takeoff queue for hours.

• The game completely resets the planes ready for takeoff when quitted and restarted.

So that brings my incentive to perform takeoffs to nearly zero. The game isn’t forcing you to perform them. Strictly speaking in an actual airport planes on final have the utmost priority so I’m technically playing the game as it should.

Funny thing is, I consider it a bug, as soon as the plane has been pushed back, it already “departs” even though it didn’t take off yet.
This causes for a hilarious scene where I can see the airplane returning while it still being queued for takeoff.

I’ve attached some screenshots.
Here are screenshots of:

• the absurdity of the takeoff queue. Please note that this is instantly gone when quitting the app.
  • the selected plane in the takeoff queue
  • the very same plane on the map returning in 2mins :rofl: the screenshot is taken at the same time.

I guess what I would like:

• A way to balance out landing planes vs available stalls. Let them land faster, upgrade runway, take risks having them land short, add runways, …?

• a reason to complete takoff. Having them persistent during app reboots will help!